Bread Meats Bread Glasgow: The Avdyli Family Behind the Wolf Burger

Who founded Bread Meats Bread in Glasgow, what's in its £18 dry-aged Wolf Burger and Luther burger, and where its seven branches are.

By AlexPublished

Pulled pork burger in a sesame bun, illustrating the pork-on-beef idea behind the Bread Meats Bread Glasgow Wolf Burger

Bread Meats Bread is a Glasgow family business, founded in 2012 by brothers Lulzim “Luli” and Luan Avdyli with Ylli Dushi. It started as one restaurant on St Vincent Street. Fourteen years on, it runs seven branches: four in Glasgow (City Centre, West End, Glasgow Fort and Silverburn) and three in Edinburgh. Its signature is the £18 Wolf Burger, built on grass-fed beef dry-aged on the bone for 25 to 40 days. I put this profile together from Companies House filings, the official June 2026 menu and Scottish trade press, and every source is dated below.

Who owns Bread Meats Bread?

Bread Meats Bread is owned and run by the Avdyli family, and brothers Luli and Luan Avdyli are its current directors. Companies House lists Bread Meats Bread Ltd (company number SC438490) as incorporated on 10 December 2012 and still active, with its registered office at 110 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1QJ. Its latest accounts run to 28 August 2025.

The brothers were the company’s first directors in 2012. Both were appointed again on 1 November 2020 and are still in post. The same day ended the directorship of Ylli Dushi, the third co-founder, which had begun on 23 April 2018. (Companies House officers list, checked 9 October 2026.)

The Avdyli family: from Kosovo to St Vincent Street

Bread Meats Bread started as a Kosovo-born family’s burger restaurant in central Glasgow in 2012. Luli Avdyli grew up in Kosovo. In 2017, speaking to the trade paper SLTN, Luli called the St Vincent Street restaurant the group’s “first journey”.

102–104 St Vincent Street in Glasgow city centre, the street where Bread Meats Bread opened its first restaurant in 2012 102–104 St Vincent Street, Glasgow city centre, photographed in 2018. In 2014 Time Out placed the first Bread Meats Bread at No. 104. The city-centre branch later moved to larger premises on the same street (2268×4032). (Photo: Stinglehammer, CC BY-SA 4.0 (https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:102,\_104\_St\_Vincent\_Street,\_Glasgow.jpg))

It has always been a family affair. The roles SLTN listed in July 2017 are a snapshot of that year, not today’s org chart:

  • Luli Avdyli: director
  • Luan Avdyli: director
  • Lulja Avdyli: manager
  • Lirie Avdyli: HR manager
  • Ylli Dushi: executive chef

I found no current source for Ylli Dushi’s role, so it appears here only as it stood in 2017 and in the company filings. By 2023, Luli Avdyli was speaking as group director at the Silverburn launch (DRAM Scotland).

When did Bread Meats Bread open?

Bread Meats Bread was founded in 2012, not in 2015 as several listing sites claim. The company was incorporated in December 2012, and both SLTN (2017) and DRAM Scotland (2022) date the first restaurant to that year. The brand’s own dates point to 2013 as its first full year: the menu has billed poutine as a house specialty “since 2013”, and the 2023 Silverburn opening was marketed as a 10th anniversary. No source gives an exact opening day.

How Bread Meats Bread grew: 2012 to 2026

Bread Meats Bread grew from a single restaurant on St Vincent Street in 2012 to seven branches across Glasgow and Edinburgh in 2026. By January 2022, before Silverburn had opened, DRAM Scotland already counted seven units in the group, and the payroll had grown from 15 to 150 people.

Year Milestone Source
2012 Company incorporated (10 December); first restaurant on St Vincent Street Companies House, SLTN, DRAM
2016 Edinburgh Lothian Road opens DRAM 2022
2016 West End flagship opens on Great Western Road (September) DRAM 2016
2017 Sister kebab concept Babs opens on West Nile Street (June) SLTN 2017
2020–2021 City centre restaurant moves to larger premises on St Vincent Street during the pandemic DRAM 2022
2021 Edinburgh North Bridge flagship opens (2 December) The Scotsman, DRAM 2022
2023 Silverburn opens in the former Stack and Still unit (October) DRAM 2023, What’s On Glasgow

Bread Meats Bread timeline, 2012–2023. Horizontal timeline with Glasgow branches in blue and Edinburgh in green: 2012 St Vincent Street; 2016 Lothian Road (Edinburgh); Sept 2016 West End; June 2017 Babs; 2020–21 city-centre move; 2 Dec 2021 North Bridge (Edinburgh); Oct 2023 Silverburn. Staff grew from 15 to 150 people. (Graphic: Burger Breton, original timeline built from Companies House, DRAM Scotland 2016/2022/2023, SLTN 2017 and The Scotsman 2021)

The family had wanted the West End from the start. “The West End is where we initially wanted to open, as we really wanted a big unit,” Luli Avdyli told DRAM Scotland in September 2016. The new flagship had more than 70 covers, Chesterfield-style booths, a private dining area and an open kitchen upstairs.

Babs, the gourmet kebab spin-off, opened in June 2017 with 60 covers over two floors. Whether it is still trading in 2026 is not something I could confirm.

What makes Bread Meats Bread burgers different

Bread Meats Bread built its name on dry-aged beef, food made fresh every day and a kitchen without freezers. According to the June 2026 menu, the beef is grass-fed, dry-aged on the bone for 25 to 40 days and hand-pressed into 5oz (about 140 g) patties, which go into artisan sesame buns. You can also order them “ultra-smashed”.

Beef dry-ageing in a cold room, the method Bread Meats Bread Glasgow uses for its burger patties Beef dry-ageing in a cold room. Bread Meats Bread ages grass-fed beef on the bone for 25 to 40 days before hand-pressing it into 5oz patties. Illustrative photo, not taken at Bread Meats Bread or its butcher (2700×1800). (Photo: Filipe Fortes, CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dry-aging\_beef.jpg))

Dry-aged beef and a no-freezer kitchen

“No freezers, no microwaves” has been the kitchen rule since at least 2014. That year Time Out reported it, along with an open kitchen where everything was prepared fresh daily. DRAM’s 2022 profile found one exception: a freezer for the ice cream. The official site’s tagline sums it up: “a family business founded in the belief that freshness means flavour”.

Suppliers named in the press

The trade press has named two local suppliers, but both reports are a few years old. In 2017, SLTN reported that the beef came from Rodgers the Butchers on Byres Road. In 2022, DRAM reported that bread was delivered daily by Artisan Bakers. Neither supplier relationship is confirmed for 2026.

Bread Meats Bread signature burgers and prices (June 2026)

Two burgers share the top of the price list at £18: the Wolf, which the menu calls its signature, and the Luther Doughnut Burger, which it flags as “A must have!”. The prices below come from the official June 2026 menu. Every burger comes with a small side of chips, tater tots or salad.

The Wolf Burger

The Wolf Burger is a dry-aged beef burger with double American cheese, crispy bacon, smoky BBQ pulled pork, crispy onions and spicy mayo, for £18. The menu labels it “Our Signature Burger”, and it has a long pedigree: in 2014, Time Out reviewed its ancestor, “The Wolf of St Vincent Street”, which also stacked double bacon and BBQ pulled pork on the beef. The name is shorter now, but the idea is the same.

That is a lot of topping for beef that has spent up to 40 days ageing. If the dry-aged patty is what brings you in, judge it first on the £12.50 Classic or the £14 Cheeseburger, where nothing covers it up. Save the Wolf for a second visit, when you want the full show.

The Luther Doughnut Burger

A Luther burger is a cheeseburger served between glazed doughnuts instead of a bun. At Bread Meats Bread, two caramelised glazed ring doughnuts are toasted and filled with a candied-bacon cheeseburger, spicy mayo and crispy onions, for £18. The Chicken Luther and the plant-based Luther Plantross cost the same. If you would rather bake a classic bun at home, try our homemade burger buns recipe.

Luther burger: a bacon cheeseburger served in a glazed doughnut instead of a bun A Luther burger: a bacon cheeseburger served in a glazed doughnut, photographed at a Minnesota fair. Bread Meats Bread’s £18 Luther Doughnut Burger uses two toasted caramelised ring doughnuts. Illustrative photo, not taken at Bread Meats Bread (2888×2304). (Photo: Jonathunder, CC BY-SA 3.0 (https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Doughnut\_burger.jpg))

Full beef burger price list

Burger What sets it apart Price
Classic Burger The base dry-aged patty £12.50
Cheeseburger Classic with cheese £14
Bacon Cheeseburger Cheese and bacon £15.50
Brunch Burger Brunch-style build £15.50
Ayia Napa With halloumi £17.50
Smoky BBQ Pastrami Pastrami topping £17.50
Wolf Burger (signature) Double American cheese, bacon, BBQ pulled pork, crispy onions, spicy mayo £18
Luther Doughnut Burger Glazed doughnut “bun”, candied bacon £18
Sunshine on Beef With brisket £18
Philly Cheesesteak Burger With Scotch ribeye £18.50

Bread Meats Bread beef burger prices, June 2026. Horizontal bar chart in £, each with a small side: Classic 12.50, Cheeseburger 14, Bacon Cheeseburger 15.50, Brunch 15.50, Ayia Napa 17.50, Smoky BBQ Pastrami 17.50, Wolf 18, Luther Doughnut 18, Sunshine on Beef 18, Philly Cheesesteak 18.50. (Chart: Burger Breton, data from the official Bread Meats Bread June 2026 menu)

Poutine in Glasgow: the Bread Meats Bread house specialty

Bread Meats Bread has served Canadian poutine since 2013, and the menu still calls it “Our House Specialty”. It is made with fresh cheese curds. In June 2026, prices run from £7 for a small poutine to £12 for the Classic Big Poutine, £14 for “Raspoutine. The Healer” and £17 for the Pastrami Poutine.

Poutine with fries, gravy and fresh cheese curds, the house specialty at Bread Meats Bread Glasgow Poutine: fries, gravy and fresh cheese curds, the Canadian classic that Bread Meats Bread has served in Glasgow since 2013. Illustrative photo taken in Whistler, Canada (1024×770). (Photo: Joe Shlabotnik, CC BY 2.0 (https://www.flickr.com/photos/40646519@N00/422692736))

Poutine is the item I would single out. A Glasgow burger brand does not keep a Canadian dish as its house specialty for 13 years unless people keep ordering it.

Poutine prices at Bread Meats Bread, June 2026 (bar chart, £): Small Poutine 7, Classic Big Poutine 12, Tater Tot’ Poutine 13, Raspoutine. The Healer 14, Buffalo Chicken Poutine 16, Pastrami Poutine 17. (Chart: Burger Breton, data from the official Bread Meats Bread June 2026 menu)

Gluten-free and vegan burgers at Bread Meats Bread

Bread Meats Bread has a dedicated gluten-free menu (labelled NGCI) and a plant-based range. The vegan burgers use Impossible™ patties in demi brioche buns: the Impossible Burger costs £13, the Angry Vegan £15 and the Vegan Philly £16. The chicken burgers use free-range, buttermilk-fried chicken. Gluten-free and allergen menus are on the official menus page. Neither the official site nor the June 2026 menu mentions halal meat, so I make no claim either way.

Bread Meats Bread locations: Glasgow and Edinburgh

There are seven Bread Meats Bread restaurants, four in Glasgow and three in Edinburgh, according to the official site as checked on 9 October 2026. Full addresses appear only where a source confirms them. Check opening hours with your branch before you go.

City Branch Location details Opened
Glasgow City Centre St Vincent Street (moved to larger premises on the same street during the pandemic) 2012
Glasgow West End Great Western Road, 70+ cover flagship September 2016
Glasgow Glasgow Fort Unit A, 90 Provan Walk, The Fort Shopping Park Not confirmed
Glasgow Silverburn Silverburn shopping centre, former Stack and Still unit October 2023
Edinburgh Lothian Road Lothian Road 2016
Edinburgh North Bridge 7 North Bridge, former Prezzo, flagship 2 December 2021
Edinburgh Fort Fort Kinnaird Not confirmed

Map of the seven Bread Meats Bread restaurants in Glasgow (City Centre, West End, Glasgow Fort, Silverburn) and Edinburgh (Lothian Road, North Bridge, Fort Kinnaird). Pins are placed only at addresses confirmed in the article. Iframe 800×450; download a local poster. (Map: © OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL)

In Edinburgh, the North Bridge flagship opened in a former Prezzo on 2 December 2021 (The Scotsman). For other burger restaurants in the capital, see our Edinburgh burger restaurants page.

Practical tips for visiting

Groups of more than six pay a discretionary 10% service charge, and the menu says all tips go to staff. Bookings are less clear-cut. Time Out described the restaurant as walk-in only in 2014. Listing sites now say it takes reservations, but the official site does not state a policy, so call ahead if you are bringing a large group.

Is Bread Meats Bread the best burger in Glasgow?

Bread Meats Bread is one of Glasgow’s longest-running dedicated burger restaurants, and its beef, dry-aged on the bone, sets it apart from most rivals. Whether it is the single best is a closer call. Local roundups in The Scotsman, The List and Time Out regularly name Burger Meats Bun, El Perro Negro and Chop Grill & Bar too. The brand’s own site claims “Best in Scotland”, “Top 20 in Europe” and “Top 50 worldwide”. Those awards are self-reported, and I could not reach the primary award pages, so I repeat none of them.

What the record does show is 14 years of trading, seven branches and a menu that still prints its ageing times. That consistency is the strongest case for Bread Meats Bread, and it is why I would point a first-time visitor to Glasgow here before chasing a newer opening.

For more burger restaurants in the city, see our Glasgow burger restaurants page. Elsewhere in the UK, read our guides to the best burgers in London and the best burgers in Birmingham, or browse every city in our burger restaurant guides.

How this profile was researched

This is a desk-researched profile. I have not eaten at Bread Meats Bread for this piece, so nothing here describes how the food tastes, and the restaurant had no say in the article. Ownership and dates come from Companies House, and menu items and prices from the official June 2026 menu. The history draws on DRAM Scotland (2016, 2022, 2023), SLTN (2017), The Scotsman (2021), What’s On Glasgow (2023) and Time Out (2014). Every source was checked on 9 October 2026. Claims I could not verify on a primary page are left out: unconfirmed awards, halal options, exact opening dates and some branch addresses.

Bread Meats Bread FAQ

Who founded Bread Meats Bread? Brothers Lulzim “Luli” and Luan Avdyli founded Bread Meats Bread in Glasgow in 2012 with Ylli Dushi. Luli and Luan Avdyli are the current directors.

When and where did Bread Meats Bread open? The first Bread Meats Bread opened on St Vincent Street in Glasgow city centre in 2012. The company was incorporated on 10 December 2012.

What is the Wolf Burger and how much does it cost? The Wolf Burger is the Bread Meats Bread signature: dry-aged beef, double American cheese, crispy bacon, BBQ pulled pork, crispy onions and spicy mayo. It costs £18 on the June 2026 menu.

What is a Luther burger? A Luther burger is a cheeseburger served in glazed doughnuts instead of a bun. Bread Meats Bread’s version uses two toasted caramelised ring doughnuts and a candied-bacon cheeseburger, for £18.

How many Bread Meats Bread restaurants are there? There are seven: City Centre, West End, Glasgow Fort and Silverburn in Glasgow, plus Lothian Road, North Bridge and Fort in Edinburgh.

Does Bread Meats Bread take reservations? The official site does not state a booking policy. The restaurant was walk-in only in 2014, and listing sites now say it takes bookings. Confirm with your branch before you go.

Does Bread Meats Bread have gluten-free or vegan options? Yes. There is a dedicated gluten-free menu, and the vegan burgers use Impossible™ patties, from £13. The official menu does not mention halal options.

Why does a Glasgow burger restaurant serve poutine? Poutine has been on the Bread Meats Bread menu since 2013 as its “house specialty”: Canadian-style fries with gravy and fresh cheese curds, from £7 for a small portion.